Skip to content

We ask you, humbly: don't scroll away.

Hi readers, it seems you use Catholic Online a lot; that's great! It's a little awkward to ask, but we need your help. If you have already donated, we sincerely thank you. We're not salespeople, but we depend on donations averaging $14.76 and fewer than 1% of readers give. If you donate just $5.00, the price of your coffee, Catholic Online School could keep thriving. Thank you.

Help Now >

10 foods you thought were vegetarian but aren't

Free World Class Education
FREE Catholic Classes
Many vegan and vegetarian friendly foods contain some animal products.

Whether you are a vegetarian or not, you definitely need to find out the different products, ingredients and other stuff found in the food that you eat. Consider looking into your favorite fruits, vegetables, brand of cereals and candies; you will be surprised to find that they contain certain ingredients that you would not expect. In fact, you would be shocked to discover that a good number of foods contain animal products - which makes them unfavorable for vegans and vegetarians.

Highlights

By Nikky Andres (NEWS CONSORTIUM)
Catholic Online (https://www.catholic.org)
5/21/2015 (7 years ago)

Published in Home & Food

Keywords: health, food, animal products, vegetarian, vegan, list, how to

MUNTINLUPA, PHILIPPINES (Catholic Online) - Given all our health considerations and precautions about what we eat, we should be aware of several foods that secretly contain animal products or by-products. Here's a quick run-down:


1. Foods that are usually dyed in red contain a natural dye known as carmine. These are derived from beetles which have been crushed.

2. Frosted Wheat Cereals usually use beef gelatin from cow bones. This is used to glue the shreds of wheat together.

3. Miso soup may contain bonito flakes or made with a fish based dashi stock. Unless it is specified that it is vegetarian or vegan, then they are most often than not, animal based.

4. Parmesan cheese is usually made using rennet or the inner linings of the cows' stomachs.

5. Stout beers are commonly produced with fish bladder to filter the product.

6. Non-organic fruits and vegetables are sprayed with fertilizers and pesticides that contain animal products.

7. Worcestershire Sauce is made from anchovies. Vegans and vegetarians should make sure that they purchase vegan friendly Worcestershire sauce.

8. Processed or packaged orange juice is not as harmless as most people think; they are known to contain omega-3 from fish oils.

9. Frozen pastry and pie crusts are, unless specified as vegetarian or vegan, usually made with lard. And this type of fat comes from pig fat.

10. Pesto is made with either Romano or Grana Padano cheeses, which are made using the stomach linings of cows.

---


'Help Give every Student and Teacher FREE resources for a world-class Moral Catholic Education'


Copyright 2021 - Distributed by Catholic Online

FREE Catholic Classes Pick a class, you can learn anything

Join the Movement
When you sign up below, you don't just join an email list - you're joining an entire movement for Free world class Catholic education.

To all our readers,

Please don't scroll past this. We interrupt your reading to humbly ask you to defend Catholic Online School's independence. 98% of our readers don't give; they look the other way. If you are an exceptional reader who has already donated, we sincerely thank you. If you donate just $10.00, or whatever you can, Catholic Online School could keep thriving for years. Most people donate because Catholic Online School is useful. If Catholic Online School has given you $10.00 worth of knowledge this year, take a minute to donate. Show the world that access to Catholic education matters to you. Thank you.

Help Now >

Catholic Online Logo

Copyright 2021 Catholic Online. All materials contained on this site, whether written, audible or visual are the exclusive property of Catholic Online and are protected under U.S. and International copyright laws, © Copyright 2021 Catholic Online. Any unauthorized use, without prior written consent of Catholic Online is strictly forbidden and prohibited.

Catholic Online is a Project of Your Catholic Voice Foundation, a Not-for-Profit Corporation. Your Catholic Voice Foundation has been granted a recognition of tax exemption under Section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code. Federal Tax Identification Number: 81-0596847. Your gift is tax-deductible as allowed by law.

Subscribe to Our Newsletter!