Arkansas moves to ban abortion at 18 weeks
FREE Catholic Classes
The Arkansas Senate approved a bill Monday that would ban most abortions after 18 weeks of pregnancy. Three Democrats joined 25 Republicans to pass the bill 28-6.
Little Rock, Ark., (CNA) - The original text of the bill only allowed exceptions for medical emergencies but State Sen. Jason Rapert, a co-sponsor of the bill, offered an amendment to include exceptions for rape and incest.
House Bill 1439 faces one last vote in the House, which must approve the Senate's amendments, before being presented for executive signature by Gov. Asa Hutchinson. According to the Associated Press, the governor is supportive of the measure and is expected to sign the bill into law.
Should it become law, the ban is expected to face legal challenges. If enacted, the 18-week abortion ban would be the strictest abortion limit on the statute books in the U.S. Arkansas already has a 20-week abortion ban, enacted in 2013, which has yet to be challenged in court.
Gov. Hutchison signed a "trigger law" last month which would ban most abortions in the event the Supreme Court overturned the 1973 Roe v Wade court decision that recognized abortion as a constitutional right in the United States.
The Diocese of Little Rock welcomed the trigger law, which would outlaw abortion except in the case of a medical emergency.
Arkansas is the fifth state to pass a law to ban abortion if Roe is overturned. Trigger laws have also been passed in Louisiana, North Dakota, South Dakota, and Mississippi.Similar bills are advancing through the legislature in Kentucky and Tennessee.
Tennessee's Catholic bishops have voiced strong support for the measure in that state, while opposing attempts to pass a bill that would ban abortion after the detection of a fetal heartbeat but would likely fail an inevitable court challenge.
In Georgia, state legislators are also close to passing a fetal heartbeat law, though the Georgia Health and Human Services Committee tabled a second piece of legislation that would have banned abortion following a reversal of Roe v Wade.
Democratic lawmakers are working to repeal a similar statute which has been on the books in New Mexico since 1969.
Last month the Arkansas Senate voted to advance a bill to require doctors to inform a patient in writing that a medication abortion could be reversed after the first pill is taken, an expansion of a 2015 law. Idaho, South Dakota and Utah have passed similar laws.
Copyright 2019 - Distributed by THE CALIFORNIA NETWORK
As a large fire continues to burn in southern California, the Archdiocese of Los Angeles has expanded one of its support funds for the ... continue reading
New York Governor Andrew Cuomo has announced the state will erect a statue of St. Frances Xavier Cabrini. New York City, N.Y., (CNA) - New ... continue reading
Archbishop Dominic Jala of Shillong, India and Fr. Mathew Vellankal died in a car crash Oct. 10 during a visit to the Diocese of Oakland. ... continue reading
The Church has often taken secular holidays and, in a sense, baptized them, as a means of infusing the values of the Gospel into the ... continue reading
Following an August announcement from the Knights of Columbus that the group would commit at least $250,000 to aid migrants at the ... continue reading
Copyright 2019 Catholic Online. All materials contained on this site, whether written, audible or visual are the exclusive property of Catholic Online and are protected under U.S. and International copyright laws, © Copyright 2019 Catholic Online. Any unauthorized use, without prior written consent of Catholic Online is strictly forbidden and prohibited.
Catholic Online is a Project of Your Catholic Voice Foundation, a Not-for-Profit Corporation. Your Catholic Voice Foundation has been granted a recognition of tax exemption under Section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code. Federal Tax Identification Number: 81-0596847. Your gift is tax-deductible as allowed by law.