Skip to main content

College of Cardinals: an Overview

Dates to the 12th Century

VATICAN CITY, MARCH 24, 2006 (Zenit) - Cardinals, those special advisers to and collaborators with the popes, have a long history and varied duties.

They oversee the presbyterates of 25 titular and quasi parish churches of Rome, of which seven are regional deaconries and six Palatine deaconries, and seven suburban sees.

The Pontifical Yearbook explains that the College of Cardinals was formed in 1150, with a cardinal dean, who is the bishop of Ostia, and the chamberlain, who on the death of a pope is in charge of the administration of the affairs of the Holy See.

Since 1059 the cardinals are the exclusive electors of the pope.

In the 12th century, cardinals began to be named who were prelates in residence outside of Rome.

From the 12th century this pertained to bishops and archbishops, from the 15th century, it also pertained to patriarchs.

The number of cardinals in the 13th to the 15th centuries was usually not over 30; Pope Sixtus V fixed the number at 70. There were six cardinal bishops, 50 cardinal priests and 14 cardinal deacons.

In a consistory of Dec. 15, 1958, Pope John XXIII departed from the number of cardinals established by Sixtus V and confirmed by the 1917 Code of Canon Law. Also, John XXIII, with his letter "Cum Gravissima" of April 1962, established that henceforth all cardinals were to be bishops.

Pope Paul VI, with the letter "Ad Purpuratorum Patrum" of February 1965, determined the place of the Oriental Patriarch within the College of Cardinals.

120 electors

The same Roman Pontiff, with the letter "Ingravescentem Aetatem," of November 1970, established that when cardinals reached the age of 80: one, they ceased to be members of the dicasteries of the Roman Curia and of all the permanent agencies of the Holy See and of Vatican City State; and two, they become ineligible to elect the Roman Pontiff and to enter the conclave.

In a consistory of November 1973 Paul VI established at 120 the maximum number of cardinals that have the right to elect the Roman Pontiff.

Pope John Paul II, in the apostolic constitution "Universi Dominici Gregis" of February 1996, reconfirmed this directive.

The cardinals belong to various Roman congregations: they are considered princes of the Church, with the title of "Eminence." Those residing in Rome, even outside Vatican City, enjoy the rights and privileges of citizenship of the Vatican.


Catholic Online  CA, US
Catholic Online - Publisher, 661 869-1000



College, Cardinals, Pope

Rate This Article

Very Helpful Somewhat Helpful Not Helpful at All

Yes, I am Interested No, I am not Interested

Rate Article


Leave a Comment

Comments submitted must be civil, remain on-topic and not violate any laws including copyright. We reserve the right to delete any comments which are abusive, inappropriate or not constructive to the discussion.

Though we invite robust discussion, we reserve the right to not publish any comment which denigrates the human person, undermines marriage and the family, or advocates for positions which openly oppose the teaching of the Catholic Church.

This is a supervised forum and the Editors of Catholic Online retain the right to direct it.

We also reserve the right to block any commenter for repeated violations. Your email address is required to post, but it will not be published on the site.

We ask that you NOT post your comment more than once. Catholic Online is growing and our ability to review all comments sometimes results in a delay in their publication.

Send me important information from Catholic Online and it's partners. See Sample

Post Comment

Newsletter Sign Up

Daily Readings

Reading 1, Joel 4:12-21
'Let the nations rouse themselves and march to the Valley of ... Read More

Psalm, Psalms 97:1-2, 5-6, 11-12
Yahweh is king! Let earth rejoice, the many isles be glad! ... Read More

Gospel, Luke 11:27-28
It happened that as he was speaking, a woman in the crowd ... Read More

Saint of the Day

October 10 Saint of the Day

St. Francis Borgia
October 10: Francis was a young nobleman at the court of the King of Spain. ... Read More