Skip to content

Liturgical Colors


White colorLight, innocence, purity, joy, triumph, glory

Season of Christmas
Season of Easter
Feasts of the Lord, other than of His passion
Feasts of Mary, the angels, and saints who were not martyrs
All Saints (1 November)
Feasts of the Apostles
Nuptial Masses
Masses for the dead (Requiem Masses) when the deceased is a baptized child who died before the age of reason

Note: White is the color of Popes' non-liturgical dress. White can be replaced by Silver.


Red colorThe Passion, blood, fire, God's Love, martyrdom

Feasts of the Lord's passion, Blood, and Cross
Feasts of the martyrs
Palm Sunday

Note: Red is the color of Cardinals' non-liturgical dress


Green colorThe Holy Ghost, life eternal, hope

Time After Epiphany
Time After Pentecost


Violet colorPenance, humility, melancholy

Season of Advent
Season of Septuagesima
Season of Lent
Rogation Days
Ember Days (except for Pentecost Ember Days)
Vigils except for Ascension and Pentecost
Good Friday

Note: Violet, literally "amaranth red," is the color of Bishops', Archbishops', and Patriarchs' non-liturgical dress


Black colorMourning, sorrow

All Souls Day
Masses for the dead (Requiem Masses), except for baptized children who've died before the age of reason


Rose colorJoy

Gaudete Sunday (Third Sunday of Advent)
Laetare Sunday (Fourth Sunday of Lent)


Gold colorJoy

Gold can replace white, red, or green (but not violet or black)

Never Miss any Updates!

Stay up to date with the latest news, information, and special offers.

Catholic Online Logo

Copyright 2017 Catholic Online. All materials contained on this site, whether written, audible or visual are the exclusive property of Catholic Online and are protected under U.S. and International copyright laws, © Copyright 2017 Catholic Online. Any unauthorized use, without prior written consent of Catholic Online is strictly forbidden and prohibited.