Article brought to you by: Catholic Online (

Philadelphia LE - James Earl Jones named '12 recipient of Philadelphia's Marian Anderson Award

By Catholic Online (NEWS CONSORTIUM)
June 5th, 2012
Catholic Online (

James Earl Jones has recently been named the 2012 recipient of the Marian Anderson Award, an award that honors artists whose leadership helps humanity.

PHILADELPHIA, PA (Catholic Online) - The actor will be accepting the award at the November 19 party at the Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts in Philadelphia. Jones is an actor of "intelligence and dignity who inspires others to pursue their dreams," according to Pamela Browner White, chairwoman of the award's board of directors.

The Marian Anderson Award is named after the celebrated contralto who was the first black soloist at the Metropolitan Opera in New York in the year 1955. She died at the age of 96 in 1993.

Previous winners of the award. include Harry Belafonte, Sidney Poitier, Elizabeth Taylor. and Richard Gere.

Article brought to you by: Catholic Online (